Michael St. Pierre

September 24, 2022

Praying for Deep Patience

Where do you keep a nice collection of meaningful prayers and quotes? This could be within Apple Notes or inside a paper notebook.

One that I’ve been meditating on lately is from St. John of the Cross, whom St. Teresa of Avila called “the father of my soul”. High praise for the 16th century man who wrote poetically about the spiritual life.

Figuring you may also find it inspiring:

O blessed Jesus,
Grant me stillness of soul in You.
Let your mighty calmness reign in me;
Reign in me, O King of gentleness, King of peace.

Give me control, great power of self-control,
Control over my words, thoughts, and actions.
From all irritability, lack of meekness, lack of gentleness,

O dear Lord, deliver me.
By your own deep patience, give me patience,

Stillness of soul in You.

Make me in this and all things more and more like You.