Michael St. Pierre

May 12, 2021

Sad Reminders of the Human Side of Things

This side of heaven, we are often reminded of the imperfect, fragile side of things. Last weekend, our parish with three priests subtracted two. One is leaving the priesthood and the other is being assigned to a new parish.

A simple letter was inserted into the bulletin explaining the situation of one of the priests. As for the other, nothing was said.

Hundreds of families were left to make sense of it all, heading home after Mass with more questions than answers. I write this not to be critical of my pastor, whom I respect. Rather, I’m sad because I’m human and will miss two good men. I’m blue because no one thought that parishioners might need a bit more than a photocopied letter in the bulletin. 

In situations like these, more conversation is needed, not less. These ought to be discussions about how people value and make time for their parish, care for one another and appreciate communication at an adult level. 

This isn’t about optics but about the human side of a community of faith.