Michael St. Pierre

June 25, 2023

“Stolen Focus” and the Case for the Liturgy of the Hours

As a layman, I’ve struggled through the Liturgy of the Hours (or as I’ll refer to it, the Office) over the past few months. Having subscribed to Word on Fire’s monthly subscription, I figured I’d give it a try for the first time in decades. 

$7 a month felt like a worthwhile experiment.

My experience has gone like this:

  • Month one: this is really neat; nice booklet; new way of praying to learn and figure out
  • Month two: who put this together anyways? Do we really need three psalms before a reading and intercessions? I’d construct it differently. 
  • Month three: would it be so bad if I only read through half of the prayers?
  • Month four: stop thinking and just pray. Let God do whatever God needs to do through you.

I’m not bound, as a layman, to pray the Office. There’s literally no obligation and this can work for or against you. It gives you permission to test it out but can detract from your commitment to it over the long haul.

After all, it’s a big commitment to pray the Office three times a day. I have no idea how monks pray seven times per day. Heroic stuff.

Lately though, now in Month Four of the experiment, I’ve had a breakthrough. I’m reading “Stolen Focus: Why You Can’t Pay Attention- and How to Think Deeply Again” by Johann Hari and a key point he makes is that one ought to read slowly in order to rewire the brain and retain more information. Science teaches us that fast reading benefits us very little.

Back to the Office. I don’t want to, necessarily, retain what I’m praying in the Office. I am interested though in rewiring my noggin.

Less skimming, more slow reading.
Less rushing, more lingering.
Less hurry, more intellectual staying power.

In this way, I’m using the Office to pray, for sure! It’s also a convenient tool for learning (once again) to slow down and find the Lord in the present moment.

What’s been your experience with the Divine Office? How have you learned to slow down and enjoy the routine of praying?


Michael St. Pierre, Ed.D.
www.mikestpierre.com