Michael St. Pierre

January 27, 2023

The simplest morning routine ever?

Happy Friday!

A few weeks ago I wrote about how we were a few weeks into the New Year. Rather than focusing on popular New Year’s Resolutions, I asked about your morning prayer routine.

Since then, I’ve been thinking about my own routine. Showing up each morning is the biggest part of it for sure.

The components of my routine? They’re so simple, I’m almost embarrassed:

Make coffee
Sit on couch
Read Bible
Pet dog
Watch sun rise
Write in journal
Ask for God’s blessing

This is my routine. I used to feel guilty that it wasn’t more fancy or more formal. Over time, I realized that, if I were to give someone else advice, I would think well of a routine like the one I have.

So I’m grateful. Grateful to be able to show up for prayer and present myself to God.

How about you? Is your morning routine simple enough that you would recommend it to someone else?

-Mike