Michael St. Pierre

April 15, 2021

Three Ways That Your Relationship with God is a Refuge

The Bible offers plenty of metaphors for one’s relationship with God. One of my favorites is that of refuge. I read about it today in Psalm 34:23.

Keep in mind that I live in the suburbs. Refuge is a foreign concept to me and one which I’ve had to mine for many years.

Only recently did I feel as if I “got it”. I had read Becky Eldredge’s book, The Inner Chapel, and was mesmerized by the idea of retreating to one’s relationship with God. To Becky, this is not a retreat of weakness but one of strength. I realized that I’ve been doing this faithfully for decades, each morning making a retreat with the Lord.

So how do you consider your relationship with God a retreat, or a refuge? I suggest the following:

  1. A refuge is a place of necessity. Daily prayer is just not something I have the luxury of avoiding. I need it so much.
  2. A disciple knows how to get there regularly. Even when schedules are full, a disciple learns to quiet himself and spend time with the Lord.
  3. A disciple enjoys each visit to the refuge. I savor morning quiet times. The repetition allows for resources to flow.

No matter your level of relationship with God, it can become, day after day, a refuge. In this way, your daily quiet time will become a delightful source of strength.