Michael St. Pierre

September 24, 2021

What Do You Bring to God Each Morning?

What is it that you bring to the Lord each morning during your time of prayer? Answering this question is a healthy exercise.

Too often, we just launch into things when we pray. I need this, I want that, etc.

Instead, pause to take a quick inventory: how are you feeling? What’s bothering you? What’s on your mind?

The answer to these questions will tell you what you’re bringing to the Lord this day. Finally, tell God what you’re bringing to Him.

I bring my sore ankle after soccer practice
I bring my worry about my son’s car
I bring my tiredness over all of the fighting in the Church
I bring my joy that the weekend is almost here
I bring my uncertainty over the project that’s due next week


Doing an inventory like this is not to make prayer all about us. Rather, it’s to clear the decks of what’s on our mind and heart. Then, we can be more open, surrender more fully and listen to what God has for us on any given day.

What will you bring to God today when you pray?