Michael St. Pierre

May 7, 2022

What do you Expect of God?

Much of The Quiet Life is about the anticipation of context and the impact it has on us. For example, I look forward to a hike with my children. I imagine clean air, the sound of gravel under my boots and the vistas at the top of the summit. I’m smiling just thinking about it.

Do you do this when it comes to prayer? Does it feel like drudgery or like a delight?

Wicks (see my prior post re: his book Everyday Simplicity) says this about prayer,

So in conversation with God, expect love, feel love, know love before you start. Then, just let the conversation flow. Share your strong feelings and then let God speak to you.”

I find this quote inviting but also challenging. 

The thing is this: if you expect God to love you, you must recognize the lovable-ness of yourself. God sees in you someone truly extraordinary, someone worthy of love. 

That truth ought to put a smile on our faces.