Michael St. Pierre

April 14, 2022

What if Your Daily Prayer Time isn’t Working?

It’s the Holy Triduum and I’m taking some extra time to read, pray and be silent. It was a hard Lent for me. I felt like my dog when he wants to go right and I pull him left. He eventually comes to my side but not without a bit of tugging.

Part of my difficulty is a stubbornness in prayer. I do it, for sure, but I’m often trying to take God right when He wants me to be led left, straight or wherever.

Today, I came across this article, “Don’t Expect Instant Gratification from Your ‘Quiet Time’”.

This line stopped me in my tracks, “Time in the Word is meant to be not merely informational or inspirational, but relational. It trains us to listen to the voice of God in his Word, and it teaches us who he is. It is God inviting us into conversation for the purpose of relationship.”

This Triduum, set aside time to be in humble relationship with the Lord. Try not to see this as time to get something but rather, as time to be together.