Michael St. Pierre

March 13, 2023

What Prayer is Actually Like (Behind the Scenes)

What does a good experience of prayer look like for you?

For me, it’s about 30 minutes of quiet space, scattered with some reading and reflection on the Gospel, the Liturgy of the Hours and some journaling. If I’m docile enough, I might brave into deep silence and hope to find the Lord there as well.

Now, what does prayer actually look like on a given day? Let me show you, based on a recent time of “prayer”:

-wake up at 6:15 and trod downstairs; make coffee and let dog out of crate
-sit down on couch with Bible, Liturgy of the Hours book and journal
-dog wines and stares at me intently
-five minutes later, 11 year old emerges, citing headache and requests to stay home
-dog still insistent on going outside for a walk (temperature is approx. 25 degrees)
-wife texts from upstairs game plan on the 11 year old’s headache
-16 year old daughter’s alarm begins its march through multiple snoozes

All of this goes on for about 20 minutes. I finally throw in the towel, admitting that today is “just one of those days”.

I showed up on that given day. It wasn’t perfect or what I had intended for it to be. It was life unfolding and God seeing and likely smiling at it all. Oh and as for the dog, he got what he wanted all along, a leisurely walk in chilly temperatures. 





Michael St. Pierre, Ed.D.
www.mikestpierre.com