Michael St. Pierre

December 14, 2022

What was it like before your conversion?

Today’s Mass and the Responsorial Psalm come from Isaiah 45. One line stopped me in my tracks,

“I will hear what God proclaims;
the LORD–for he proclaims peace to his people.
Near indeed is his salvation to those who fear him,
glory dwelling in our land.”

This nearness-of-salvation means a great deal to me because I remember what I was like before my conversion to Christ at age 16. I now cherish the person I have become, not through my own merit but because of Christ’s mercy and grace. How blessed is my life as a result of Christ!

This remembering is an important aspect of The Quiet Life.

Do you recall what your life was like before you knew Christ in a personal way? Take a moment today to thank God for the person you are today and for the many ways in which you continue to grow in His likeness. What a gift!