Shane Chase

March 4, 2021

In Search of Good Work

I wanted to change the world, 
but I could not even change my underwear
– John Grant, Queen of Denmark

Good work. What is it? What shape does it take? Do we know it when we see it? After a decade searching for it, it continues to elude me. Does it have to do with the focus of the work? Or does it come down to how the work is carried out? Or maybe who is doing the work and for whom? The why's, how's, who's and what's of it seem like they should matter and yet I'm not hard pressed to come up with exceptions for each.

Our leading universities don't practice what they preach, our mission-driven orgs drive their employees to burnout, our startup tech saviors tear down democracy, and our political representatives represent anything, but our national interests. And then, of course, we have social enterprises striving to do good AND do well by their customers, beneficiaries, employees, communities, and THE environment. But can you really have your capitalism and eat it too?

Maybe good work doesn't exist. Maybe my limited search results are a feature not a bug. Or maybe Paul's right and I'm a lonely man in the middle of something that he doesn't really understand. I hope the latter. 

At any rate, I've still got enough pep in my step and hope in my heart to continue the search. I'll let you know what I find.