David Siu

May 16, 2021

Don't author a book, honestly, my dog eats raw chicken feet

1x FACT • 1x LEADERSHIP LESSON • 1x SILLY THING

(A 3 Min Newsletter of 3 Random Things)

----------

1x FACT:

Thinking of writing your own book? Don't, because 98% of books ended up just selling between 0 - 1,000 copies

Give up that dream, post your thoughts on social media instead, and save some trees. 

----------

1x LEADERSHIP THOUGHT:

I find the toughest thing for leaders is to be consistently honest

No. This is not about "always be honest" or "act consistently." 

This is about being dishonest less often.

Don't get me wrong. Most of us want to be honest. However, the reality is, being honest consistently, is hard: 

  • It is very hard to be honest with ourselves- Are we truly certain and comfortable with what we honestly think or feel? 
  • It is very hard to be honest with others- Are we truly comfortable telling him/her what I honestly think of them?

And so we are constantly being tempted to be less honest: Holding back a tough feedback, not confronting a belief we don't want to admit having, etc.

Therefore it is a good "self-talk" to have on one of your "remind myself" sticky notes:

Be consistently honest

----------

1x SILLY THING:

I had two cats back in the 80s. We picked them up from the streets. We fed them cat food. They died and we threw them away.

Today, my puppy has a section in my will, and I follow this raw diet for pets instagram account to prepare her meals:

Screenshot 2021-05-16 at 10.16.41 AM.png


---

A note from me:

First, forward this to your friends. They deserve something light and fun too.

Through this newsletter, I Promise To Bring You:
  1. 1 silly thing
  2. 1 lesson about leadership from my coaching work
  3. 1 fact I believe you would find interesting 

I think about leadership & psychology in the showers.
I thought I might as well share with you my discoveries.

I am also trying to be less dull. Hence I am challenging myself to take note of randomly fun things.
I thought I might as well share the fun with you.

Share this with your friends! They trust you more than my LinkedIn ads!

You will be helping me build an audience and free me from the power of the social media platforms. I have heard too many horror stories of social media accounts getting blocked and losing all their contacts in an instant.

Thank you for helping me.

David