David Siu

March 5, 2021

Why am I stalking Jason, Matt, Tobi, Scott, Waqas, and Austin

I know, I come across strange. Who is this Asian man who is in all my Clubhouse rooms, asking questions that are always a little bit off? Why is he liking everything I post, buying every book I wrote, @ me in every one of his posts? 

I love the tales of Jason, Matt, Tobi, Scott, Waqas, and Austin. I want to be like them, because they are building things the way they want:

· A quirky email app that can email the internet, delightfully.
· A fully distributed and open-sourced website building company that appreciates jazz.
· A company which hires a team of in-house coaches and draws from the philosophy of playing video games.  
· A psychologist who knows his shit, and quirky, and makes quirky TikTok dance videos.
· A student of Bruce Lee who listens to Sufi music and makes sneakers that are better than the 400 pairs of Nikes I have worn.
· A writer who weighs his notebooks and quilts paper scraps.

They listen to the whispers of the trivial, the feelings, and beauty. They think deeply about the trivial, the feelings, and beauty. Through poems, send buttons, video games, and shoe laces, they simmer and unravel quaint thoughts, trembles of intuition, and fragile first-ideas.

They are opinionated and thoughtful. They are unconventional. They've built great businesses that didn't have to be big. They are underdogs who are striving. 

---

I have spent all my life working in the corporate world. I am now on a journey building my retired life. And boy, is this new world distracting!

Should I be a hustler? A thought leader? A Creator? An online writer? A cohort based class teacher? A solopreneur who is building his no-code app in public? 10 ways to write catchy Linkedin posts. Ship now, Build once? Wait, come again?!

Whenever the rest of the world overwhelms, I find myself studying them, admiring them, mimicking them. I find the thought copying them counselling, comforting. 

I find solace in the possibilities Jason, Matt, Tobi, Scott, Waqas, and Austin represent. 

I will copy them and build my own.

Thank you, Jason, Matt, Tobi, Scott, Waqas, and Austin.