Vimal & Sons

December 5, 2021

Cliff Notes

The title of the post might surprise most. A little bit about the concept, copied and pasted from the website CliffNotes. The 30-second version, again from the site is:

The advice that Clifton Keith Hillegass, the founder of CliffsNotes, gave to students was:

Use CliffsNotes literature guides as a study aid — a tool to help you understand literature. Most people use CliffsNotes by reading a chapter of the book or an act of the play and then reading the corresponding section in the CliffsNotes. Alternatively, read the entire book or play, and then review with CliffsNotes. Some people think using CliffsNotes guides is cheating, but it's not . . . unless you plagiarize (that is, copy information from CliffsNotes without giving us credit). Avoid plagiarism by knowing how to cite CliffsNotes, whether it's a print or online source of information.

And the disclaimer is as follows:

"Opinions expressed in the CliffsNotes aren't rigid dogma meant to discourage your intellectual exploration. You should use them as starting points to open yourself to new methods of encountering, understanding, and appreciating literature. . . ."  

The Cliff Notes application for mobile devices is no longer available. The business changed hands several times and all search queries are directed to the website above. But, and this is what matters, any writing or edited versions of a text, are still referred to as 'Cliff Notes'. Please don't compare these with Twitter Threads!   
 
Now, on to the real stuff. In the past I have published notes from books that I have read, you can call them 'extracts'. I soon realised that they were too long. So, I decided to pinch the above concept and publish Cliff Notes of these books instead. I have made a page called 'Cliff Notes Versions - Index' on which I have listed the names of the books for which I have published these kinds of notes. Interested readers can click on the link and share it with others who may find them to be useful. The underlying concept is that I am and will forever be a student of the markets. And, for those who trade and invest, and do not consider themselves as students this is useless. Lastly, (a) these are study notes that I have taken and are not necessarily cut and paste from the original content (read the bold text above), and (b) I intend to update this index page as and when possible, I may link to it in my regular posts, but I won't be sending emails when I update the page.

Cliff Notes Versions - Index