Tigers 1880

June 10, 2022

Kelly and Montoya return for semi-final: Tigers v Saints preview & team news

Last week’s win over Wasps secured top position in league for Tigers. They are the first team to top the league for the entirety of a season. And, with the league now complete, Tigers are back playing playoff rugby for the first time in five years. 

Northampton’s impressive end-of-season form secured them fourth spot in the league. With first playing fourth in the playoffs, it’s setup up a mouth-watering home semi-final against our fiercest rivals. 

Having not lost at Welford Road all season in the league, Leicester will be confident that home advantage will help them reach next week’s final against Saracens or Harlequins. Despite two resounding league wins over Saints, Tigers can’t afford to be complacent though. Northampton have enough quality to cause us problems if we’re not at our very best. 

The match will have an intense emotional edge to it following the tragic news that Tom Youngs’ wife, Tiffany, passed away this week. Tigers have confirmed there will be a minute’s applause ahead of kickoff. You can be sure the players will want their performance to give an almighty lift to Tom and all the family and friends of Tiff. 

Though Tigers are strong favourites—and justifiably so—playoff rugby is a whole different entity. It is to be hoped that Tiger’s young squad learnt the lessons from a painful defeat in the Champions Cup to Leinster and can get everything right in this game. 

📺 Kick off is 4.30pm on Saturday 11 June, and the game is live on BT Sport.

Here are the official line-ups.


1) Ellis Genge © 2) Julián Montoya 3) Dan Cole 4) Harry Wells 5) Calum Green 6) Hanro Liebenberg 7) Tommy Reffell 8) Jasper Wiese

9) Ben Youngs 10) George Ford 11) Guy Porter 12) Dan Kelly 13) Matías Moroni 14) Harry Potter 15) Freddie Steward

16) Charlie Clare 17) Nephi Leatigaga 18) Joe Heyes 19) Ollie Chessum 20) George Martin 21) Jack van Poortvliet 22) Freddie Burns 23) Nemani Nadolo


1) Emmanuel Iyogun 2) Sam Matavesi 3) Ehren Painter 4) Alex Coles 5) Api Ratuniyarawa 6) Courtney Lawes 7) Lewis Ludlam © 8) Juarno Augustus

9) Alex Mitchell 10) Dan Biggar 11) Courtnall Skosan 12) Rory Hutchinson 13) Fraser Dingwall 14) Matt Proctor 15) Tommy Freeman

16) Mike Haywood 17) Alex Waller 18) Oisín Heffernan 19) David Ribbans 20) Aaron Hinkley 21) Tom James 22) James Grayson 23) Piers Francis


: Matthew Carley
Assistant Referees: Craig Maxwell-Keys & Jack Makepeace
TMO: Stuart Terheege
Citing Officer: Duncan Bell

Thanks for reading,

Have some thoughts on this? I’d love to hear from you—do hit reply or drop me a note. Want to get these posts in your inbox? Sign-up.

// Check out my other newsletter! ⚡️ Warm and grounded, it will help you cultivate a rich, present, and extraordinary ‘ordinary’ life:
samradford.com //