Tigers 1880

April 29, 2022

Montoya back from injury to start: Tigers v Bears team news

Tigers go into Saturday’s game against Bristol looking to secure a home semi-final in the Premiership playoffs. A few fans will no doubt also be keen to see Tigers avenge their controversial defeat to the Bears last time they came to visit Welford Road. 

When the sides met at Ashton Gate on Boxing Day, Leicester beat Bristol 28-26. They will be aiming to do the double over the Bears for the first time since 2016/17. 

Steve Borthwick, Tigers head coach, has picked a strong side. You suspect this is close to the side he’ll hope to pick again when Leinster come to visit next week. He will want them battle hardened for when the Irish side visit.

📺 Kick off is 3pm on Saturday 30 April. The game isn’t on BT Sport but passes can be bought on PRTV to watch it live.

The return of Julián Montoya after injury is a huge boost for Leicester. Good as Nic Dolly and Charlie Clare are, you can’t help but feel Montoya’s availability will be key to how far Tigers progress in their quest for silverware this season. Having arguably the best hooker in world rugby is massive for Tigers. He adds immeasurably to our ability to dominate teams. 

💬 Steve Borthwick had this to say ahead of the game: 

We are excited to be back home again and looking forward to seeing another packed, loud crowd at Mattioli Woods Welford Road. The day will be extra special as we honour the contribution of Tom Youngs to Leicester Tigers and saying thank-you to a legend of our club, which I have no doubt the supporters will join us in doing. Bristol have an incredible squad, full of world-class players. They are incredibly dangerous with ball in hand and you can see how much they enjoy that style, playing from anywhere on the pitch.

Here are the official line-ups.


1) Ellis Genge © 2) Julián Montoya 3) Dan Cole 4) Harry Wells 5) Calum Green 6) Hanro Liebenberg 7) Tommy Reffell 8) Jasper Wiese

9) Ben Youngs 10) George Ford 11) Harry Potter 12) Guy Porter 13) Matías Moroni 14) Chris Ashton 15) Freddie Steward

16) Charlie Clare 17) James Whitcombe 18) Joe Heyes 19) Eli Snyman 20) Olly Robinson 21) Richard Wigglesworth 22) Freddie Burns 23) Nemani Nadolo


1) Jake Woolmore 2) Harry Thacker 3) John Afoa 4) Joe Joyce 5) Chris Vui 6) Steven Luatua 7) Sam Jeffries 8) Fitz Harding

9) Harry Randall 10) Callum Sheedy 11) Henry Purdy 12) Piers O’Conor 13) Jack Bates 14) Toby Fricker 15) Charles Piutau

16) Will Capon 17) Jono Benz-Salomon 18) Jake Armstrong 19) John Hawkins 20) Dan Thomas 21) Andy Uren 22) Ioan Lloyd 23) Alapati Leiua


: Karl Dickson
Assistant Referees: Neil Chivers & John Meredith
TMO: David Rose 

Thanks for reading,

Have some thoughts on this? I’d love to hear from you—do hit reply or drop me a note. Want to get these posts in your inbox? Sign-up.

// Check out my other newsletter! ⚡️ Warm and grounded, it will help you cultivate a rich, present, and extraordinary ‘ordinary’ life:
samradford.com //