Tigers 1880

April 22, 2022

Nadolo returns as Tigers rest and rotate: Quins v Tigers team news

Tigers head down to Twickenham Stoop, home of Harlequins, to face last year’s Premiership champions. Leicester came out on top with a narrow 16–14 victory at Welford Road in December, but 2017/18 was the last time they did the double over the London side. 

Harlequins go into the the game on the back of five back-to-back league wins. Tigers have lost just the once in their last seven, though have lost three of their last five away games. It’s set to be a tasty encounter! 

📺 Kick off is 3pm on Saturday 23 April, and the game is live on BT Sport.

Tigers are without Ollie Chessum who is serving a three week ban following his red card against Clermont last week. Guy Porter remains unavailable too as he continues to serve his three week ban from the first leg against Clermont.

After two demanding European games, head coach Steve Borthwick has chosen to rest and rotate several of the squad. Olly Robinson and Sean Jansen come into the back row; Freddie Steward gets a week off, replaced by Freddie Burns; Nemani Nadolo makes his first start in several weeks with Chris Ashton shifting to the bench.

Tigers have also chosen to fill the bench with lots of experience. Genge, Cole, Wells, Wiese, Wigglesworth, and Ashton make for formidable options for Borthwick to bring on later in the game. 

💬 Sharing his thoughts ahead of the match, Steve Borthwick had this to say:

Harlequins are a dangerous team with multiple threats. They have a really strong attacking game, phase attack game and also have a strong kicking game, led by Danny Care and Marcus Smith. On top of that, Harlequins are a side with a strong set piece and experienced players up front in their forward pack. They can play in different ways. That is what you usually get in good teams, they can challenge you in different facets of the game.”

Here are the official line-ups.


1) Francois van Wyk 2) Charlie Clare 3) Joe Heyes 4) Calum Green 5) Eli Snyman 6) Hanro Liebenberg © 7) Olly Robinson 8) Sean Jansen

9) Ben Youngs 10) George Ford 11) Nemani Nadolo 12) Matt Scott 13) Matías Moroni 14) Harry Potter 15) Freddie Burns

16) Tom Cowan-Dickie 17) Ellis Genge 18) Dan Cole 19) Harry Wells 20) Jasper Wiese 21) Richard Wigglesworth 22) Bryce Hegarty 23) Chris Ashton


1) Joe Marler 2) Jack Walker 3) Will Collier 4) Matt Symons 5) Hugh Tizard 6) Stephan Lewies © 7) Luke Wallace 8) Alex Dombrandt

9) Danny Care 10) Marcus Smith 11) Cadan Murley 12) Andre Esterhuizen 13) Joe Marchant 14) Louis Lynagh 15) Huw Jones

16) Joe Gray 17) Simon Kerrod 18) Wilco Louw 19) George Hammond 20) James Chisholm 21) Tom Lawday 22) Lewis Gjaltema 23) Nick David


: Wayne Barnes
Assistant Referees: Anthony Woodthorpe & Wayne Falla
TMO: Tom Foley
Citing Officer: John Byett 

Thanks for reading,

Have some thoughts on this? I’d love to hear from you—do hit reply or drop me a note. Want to get these posts in your inbox? Sign-up.

// Check out my other newsletter! ⚡️ Warm and grounded, it will help you cultivate a rich, present, and extraordinary ‘ordinary’ life:
samradford.com //