Tim Brown

May 23, 2021

Playlists and an idea 🎧

Took advice from Headspace and created music playlists to go with the different ways I spend time. Based on my previous idea of working modes, I have playlists for fielding, focusing, and freeing. Used all three this past week to good effect.

* * *

Woke up early the other morning with an idea for a short book. I’ve had this in mind for years, and it finally crystallized. Amazing how the brain will deliver a complete puzzle when you least expect it. I don’t think it would have happened if I’d been consciously pressuring myself to generate the idea.

Made a cup of coffee and piped my “freeing” playlist into the earbuds so as not to wake anyone. Wrote the book’s outline. Shared it with a friend who has expertise in this area, and they encouraged me. Felt great. I don’t know when I’ll have time to do the work of actually writing the book, though — priorities! But I’m glad I captured my ideas clearly while I felt inspired.

About Tim Brown

Hey there! đź‘‹ Tim Brown here. This newsletter is very occasional and includes a mix of both professional & personal things.

More about me: tbrown.orgÂ