Tim Brown

July 5, 2024

What year is it 🐻‍❄️💦

I’m reading a business book extolling the benefits of email newsletters, and I remembered that I have one! But I don’t think about this as a business effort. More like keeping up with friends and colleagues. To that end, some news...

First, my great friend Greg Veen recently launched Smashing, a service for curating the internet and sharing what we find worthwhile. Over the years, many of the sources I’ve looked to for curation have waned, become unbearably noisy, or walled themselves off. I’m hopeful that Smashing will continue to be a peaceful and useful place. Knowing Greg, it stands a solid chance. Let me know if you’d like an invitation, I have a few. 📖

Second, my publisher A Book Apart is closing its doors. I’m in the process of deciding how best to make my book, Flexible Typesetting, available going forward. Leaning toward offering it for free online, with a presence on GitHub to encourage translations and evolution. What do you think about this idea?

Oh, I actually have two email newsletters. The other one is about typography specifically, but I haven’t done a whole lot with it yet. I may try to jump start this as part of making my book free.

...

Just returned home from a week of camping with my family. 🏕️ Did some hiking, canoeing, reading, and relaxing. Now I have a few more free days, then right back into deep work at Adobe — this has been very motivating for me so far in 2024, I’m excited to share about it publicly later this year.

About Tim Brown

Hey there! 👋 Tim Brown here. This newsletter is very occasional and includes a mix of both professional & personal things.

More about me: tbrown.org