Tyler Dickey

December 18, 2021

My Favorite Things of 2021

DAJA DJ6 Laser Engraver
This was an offhand Kickstarter purchase that turned out to be price for performance one of the nicest “tech” purchases I’ve made in the last few years. Set-up was a little involved and clunky and it is certainly not by any means fast, but for little gifts and personalizing my own stuff it’s been spectacular and well worth the less that $200 I’m invested in the system. I’m particularly fond of the open base that allows you to set the laser on a larger surface and engrave directly onto the surface without having to awkwardly position the machine.

IMG_0102.PNG


Picquic Screwdrivers
I was gifted a three-pack of these lovely drivers and since then have added their hex and torx drivers to my tool bag and everyone on my team got that same three-pack this Christmas. I’m usually not a fan of multi-bit screw drivers but have become a convert since using the Piquic kit. Paired with a Knipex TwinKey, there is little I have not been able to open or repair with a limited set of tools.
IMG_0104.JPG


Montrose Bag Company
I found Montrose Bag Company in one of the few Instagram ads that has ever lead to me purchasing something and I am happy for it. Monrose’s Scottish made bags are a sibling of their offshore rope and sail business making these bags extremely tough. So far I have purchased a boot bag, 40 liter cabin bag, and several of their tool pouches as gifts. Most bags have an inexpensive option to personalize with custom text or images to make your bag your own or an even more thoughtful gift. 
IMG_0105.PNG

Military Poncho Liner aka “Woobie”
I’ve had one of these in my life for nearly as long as I can remember. The last two years I’ve found myself needed more and more time wrapped up in my cozy woobie! Any service member can agree that this seemingly innocuous blanket is something magical. The synthetic fabric and fill material are just warm enough to make a nice blanket but just cool enough to make it a year-round companion whether hanging out on the couch or out under the stars. 
IMG_0107.JPG


Benq ScreenBar Plus monitor light
This is probably the most luxurious of all the “pop it on top of your monitor” reading/task lights. The main benefits of this style of lamp is the nearly glare-free, very bright and even light that takes up little to no additional desk space. The “Plus” model I have has a handy combo-dimmer and color temperature switch for getting the lighting just right *chef’s kiss*  The best uses so far are reading a physical book or doodling in a paper notebook while taking notes on the computer or sitting in on a video meeting.   
IMG_0108.PNG