Varun Kumar

September 16, 2023

Ads from my Laundry Machine

IMG_6657.jpg
I've started getting ads from the app I use to do my laundry. My laundry machine wants me to spend more money so that I can enter a laundry raffle to win $50. How dystopian!

There's no doubt that having the app makes doing laundry much easier than putting quarters into the machine. But, it's not like I had any choice in the matter. There's now a middleman between me and what I need to do. That middleman is some corporation with quarterly reviews, a sales department, and the Christmas bonus. The incentives at such a place are the same, no matter if they're selling you diamonds or trash bags. They lead to weird little things, like the laundry app notifying you to go wash your clothes more.

Some experiences even get worse when you try making them modern. Take QR codes at restaurants. What used to be picking up the menu and pointing at the Pad Thai is now at least three more steps. Open your camera app, point it at the QR code, click on that tiny yellow link that shows up. Then, click on different tabs in the menu and scroll through items on what's usually a poorly designed menu interface. Sure, it might be better for someone somewhere, but in the end the restaurant and its patrons got duped.

About Varun Kumar

Web programmer and senior at Yale. See more at varunkumar.com