Victor Luis Gama de Assis

January 23, 2024

Initial commit

Besides the title, this is not a commitment.

I will not write regularly. This will not be a new project or strategy to build an audience or network. I just like to write.

I used to write my thoughts on my Close Friends, but the problem with that channel is that it is too hard to get back to what I have written. Instagram has an Archives feature, but it is not made for archiving texts.

I just want to keep track of my thoughts over time. Maybe send some message for the future Me. If some people start liking my texts, and subscribing to my HEY World, great! But that's not the target.

So, my dear reader, let's get to know me.

I am currently 22 years old, and living in São Paulo, Brazil. I moved here by 18 to start my Computer Engineering undergraduate studies at Insper. I didn't want to be an engineer, not even a programmer. I was just looking for a great college degree with lots of math.

After 6 months, I kinda dropped out. I joined the first class of Link School of Business, a new college that was promising to be the school for future entrepreneurs. Turns out that by leaving engineering I discovered that I liked it. And Link wasn't all that they promised it would be, so I just went back.

Summing up: I dropped out of Engineering, then Business, and then came back to engineering on the spot I had left. Bad decisions an 18-year-old makes, but I learned a lot on this journey.

It took some time to start loving (even liking) the computer part of the Computer Engineering course. But that's already solved, I am completely into it!

Surprisingly, I decided to follow an uncommon path for Computing undergraduates: to focus on Computational Biology.

I discovered the intersection of Computer Science and Biology during a lecture in my first week as an Insper student.

For some years it was just a side interest, but I started realizing there was a huge opportunity in the field. AI is taking over biology and the whole industry is changing. Time for CS dudes to shine...

Since I was a teenager, my main goal was to be an entrepreneur. First, it was just a family influence, but now I have my own reasons.

Growing up, understanding that I could build something from scratch and make lots of money sounded like the most fun and ambitious career path possible.

So, right now, I want to be a biotech founder. But there is no rush. First I want to be a Computational Biology PhD. By the end of my studies, I can start something, no idea what would be.

Right now, I am finishing my undergraduate course and working as a Research Intern at the University of Cincinnati College of Medicine's THINK Lab, under the supervision of Lucas Bulgarelli and Rodrigo Deliberato, PhD.

Some random facts about me:

- I am pretty religious, believe in the Catholic Church;
- My favorite city in the world is Santa Barbara, California;
- I love martial arts and going gym;
- Before focusing on CompBio, I worked as a Data & Product Intern at ADDI, a Colombian BNPL startup;
- The only food that I don't like to eat is cauliflower;
- I have the most pretty girlfriend in the world.

Bye bye! Thanks for reading until here, you may be cool.
Reach me out!

About Victor Luis Gama de Assis