Weyler Maldonado Canul

December 13, 2023

About job hopping


As a member of Gen Z, I don't fear quickly switching between job positions. In the last 5 years as a Software Engineer, I've worked in various companies from different industries. Initially, I believed this was the best approach to growing in my professional life, and it indeed worked, at least for me. I feel that 5 years of job hopping have given me twice the experience that the same number of years in just one position in the same company would have provided.


Throughout my (few) years in different companies, I had the chance to lead projects from scratch, understand client needs, and propose solutions. I engaged in cross-team collaboration with non-tech areas to improve projects, among other things. It was really exciting; I met many coworkers, made friends around the world, and encountered amazing engineers. In short, I learned a lot; all these lessons really boosted my career, and in my current job, I finally obtained a leadership position.


Reflecting on the various job changes I've made over the years, I've come to realize that the primary motivation behind these transitions was often rooted in the level of challenge presented by the projects I was working on. If a project didn't feel adequately challenging or if it ceased to be so over time, I found myself seeking new opportunities. Additionally, I would occasionally receive enticing job offers with significantly better salaries, prompting me to consider making a change. In essence, the driving force behind my career moves has consistently been the pursuit of projects that both stimulate and challenge me, coupled with the occasional allure of a more favorable compensation package.


However, something inside of me has changed. I no longer have the desire to find another challenging job or seek a salary increase. From a few months ago until now, I would really like to find a company where I can build a long-term career. I mean starting as a developer and eventually progressing to a management position, mentoring new engineers, and sharing my advice and tips about the industry with newcomers. I guess this is the next step in my professional life—finding my dream company. And by that, I don't necessarily mean one of the FAANG companies; it could be a startup, a large corporation—I don't really know. I just want a stable company that cares about its people, a place where we can grow together.