Adam Ming

August 24, 2021

Backlog

IMG_1567.JPG

One of the good outcomes of my Startup experience, was that I read a whole number of books that I would probably never have otherwise read. In the book ‘Scrum’ I learned the idea of a ‘Backlog’. At first glance a backlog looks like a todo list, it’s all the things you need to do prioritised in a single sequence. What makes the backlog so powerful is that as priorities change we move the items on the backlog around.

And priorities change.

In a more traditional work environment this might be seems as bad planning to start with. But in startup culture we’re forced to make plans with the best of our limited knowledge.  

What makes the backlog work is not just having this list that we reprioritise. But it’s that we’re always doing the most important thing. So you always know what’s most important and you’re always dong the most important thing.

I’ll give you an example of how this might apply in my art practice. I created a backlog of things to fill up my 20 available Art Studio hours for the week. And right after I made my list, I got an email from my agent for a couple of promo pieces that will need working on.

So instead of doing the trying to squeeze that into my week, I simply shift around the things in my backlog, and get to work on the top priority. Things climb up the ladder, and things slide down the snake. And we’re always working with focused energy on the most important thing. All in turn.