Adam Ming

June 6, 2021

Creative Downtime.

Hey World, it’s Adam! I’m trying to become a fulltime illustrator at 40. I write about the journey.

I have some creative downtime. It’s 4 hours to my bedtime so I don’t want to take a nap. But time is so precious to an independent creative. So I got started thinking how can I use this downtime, or low energy time.

Here’s a 7 things I thought off:

1. Update the portfolio. 
2. Clean up files and folders
3. Take some photos of sketchbook pages for a future posts.
4. Look for potential clients to contact.
5. Send something to potential clients.
6. Tidy up the studio
7. Write a blogpost

If you’re ever wondering how to move your creative career forward when you have low energy make a list like this or feel free to borrow mine.

I ended up spending the time creating a profile on hireillo.com , an illustrator friend of mine always has work, and this is one of the places that drives a lot of her clients to her.

It takes a day for them to give you a login, and another day before they vet your portfolio. There is a weekly fee to be on the site and you need a paypal account to sign up.

The way I see it, If it get you work the fee is worth it, and if it doesn’t, you unsubscribe.

Write back!

What do you do with downtime?

And if you’ve tried hireillo.com , how did that go?

If you like this thing forward it to a friend! If a friend sent this to you and you liked it, please subscribe!