Adam Ming

June 22, 2021

For the record: The one where Adam Ming announces he is now a working with an agent.

821382F0-E5B1-4271-B185-C985333154AE.jpg


For the record. I’m now represented by Lydia Silver at the Darley Anderson Illustration Agency. It is a milestone as I aim to develop an illustration career. I am thrilled to be working with Lydia because we share a vision of what that career could look like. And that shared vision helps create a greater level focus in the work.

In the past decade I have co-founded and advised for start-ups. And with every fund raise would receive tons of Congratulations. And so when my peers would raise funds I would Congratulate them too. There was this one guy, who when offered congratulations, said; “NO. Don’t congratulate me, wish me luck!”

I think this rings through with this milestone in my illustration career. It marks a new phase. It’s the start of a new level. It’s time to play.

I remember a comment Jerry Seinfeld made in Comedians in cars getting coffee.
“I pity the people who win things like ‘American Idol’, they feel like they are ‘in’. You’re not in, you had a good night, that’s all”. Now go do that for 10 years… And maybe we’ll let you in.”

Now that was a joke, but I feel it points at what the truth is like. When I posted this on instagram my Dad left a comment. “Praise God, for prayers answered, 🙌❤️🙏 have fun and remember every part of the journey.”

I’ll do all of the above. But most relevant to us is I’ll be doing the, “remembering every party of the Journey” bit on this Blog/Newsletter. We’ll not every part… Just the parts leading up to this milestone. Let’s go back 2 years….

If you like this thing share it with a friend. Or subscribe to get more of it if you’re the friend.