Adam Ming

June 12, 2021

Illustrating Browns

IMG_1041.PNG


Browns especially darker shades of brown are hard to print. This is because it requires all four colors to mix a brown.

This could :

  1. screw up the look of the other colors on a page.
  2. Be inconsistent because inks and paper color vary
Pro tips from friends;
1. Always make a brown have a dominant color.
2. work in lighter shades of brown then use pure black for the tone.

This first came to my attention as I was reading ‘the book’; the annual journal of the society of children’s book writers and illustrators. It was mentioned in passing so I asked my illustrator friends about it and they were kind enough to offer their experience and advice. As a result I’m able to update my color palette and a new constraint to consider while working (which always leads to more unique work).

I mention this to share how useful it is to learn about your industry as well as surround yourself with experienced peers.

#color #illustrator #scwbi