Adam Ming

May 17, 2021

What I think about when I think about illustration.

IMG_0782.JPG


A drawing is not an illustration. 

The difference is intent. An illustration implies that there is a message that needs to be transferred using only visuals. The illustrator is paid for his ability to deliver that message crisply and cleanly.

The way an illustrator delivers a message is called style. To work out a style an illustrator needs to be able to talk about it at least to herself, she needs an aim. Then she needs to adjust her work to be closer to the ideal.

If you practice wrong you’re only training yourself to be better at the wrong thing.

In the picture I’m making my own notes and criticism after I’ve completed a couple of pieces. I’ll use these notes to make corrections. And also try to get it right in future pieces.

This is the kind of thing I think about when I think about illustration. I hope you enjoyed  this and have found it helpful!  

Cheers till next time!

Adam Ming