Alexander Kluge

January 16, 2023

after her {Sunday Truth 106}

202301152235 šŸ”µ after her {Sunday Truth 106}.jpg


She gone.

Snow run.

What happens in outside nature can resemble what happenes inside of our heart, such that it was snow-free from last Saturday when she arrived and snowing again on Friday morning, the day after she was gone.

You can debate the synchronicity of nature and human connection, as I mentioned in :belated: {Sunday Truth 104}, but the weather being dry during her time with me for shooting the film with her and the weather being wet again when she leaves has a message for us: a connection of inside and outside world.

Thatā€™s all Iā€™m going to say because she is, after all, not a character or a story for me, but a full, real person that I love. So I will respect that but I will also keep the {Sunday Truth} truthful nonetheless, because what matters to me while building my dream story production company, SusĆ© Patrola, is what belongs here. And if thatā€™s a beautiful human person that I love then be it.

Music and writing is my go-to healer for breakup pain.

So I had a chance to revist The Kooks and Arctic Monkeys. Both bands had a HUGE influence during my 2006 student time and beyond. I felt disappointed by what The Kooks did in their second album (Konk), so I was uncertain whether their 2022 album (10 Tracks to Echo in the Dark) would actually bring me joy.

Wellā€¦

Their kick-off song ā€œConnectionā€ actually quite amazed me, when I listened to it yesterday at 1am in the morning. Only ā€œConnectionā€ sounds a bit overproduced, just a tad too much for me. Maybe they wanted to really hit home and overdid it.

The other songs from ā€œ10 Tracks to Echo in the Darkā€?

Closer
hit it home for me. Kicked ass. Anthem-like, and the drums reminded me of 2012 Reptar - Houseboat Babies.

I liked Oasis a lot because of its danceableness / danceability.

And there were 3 other songs I enjoyed:

Which makes it 6 songs out of 10 that I liked from their album, pretty good. Still no comparison to the intimidating 13 out of 14 songs that I liked from Empire of the Sunā€™s Two Vines album. But respectable nonetheless.

And what about Arctic Monkeys?

Mostly disappointingly boring and slow is my first impression of their 2022 album (The Car), but I may give it another try without skipping. But itā€™s probably the weak album title, too. Because ā€œThe Carā€, really?! Is that it??? Cā€™mon, dudes!!

(to be continued after a short break)

ā„¹

It was 10.38 p.m. Eastern, here in the State of New York when I started writing the {Sunday Truth 106} to you.

On January 15, 2023 with -6 degrees Celsius (-5 degrees colder compared to two days ago)

hi, iā€™m building my dream Voiceover Ads YouTube channel as a milestone to my dream storytelling company, SusĆ© Patrola. when done, iā€™ll move to Singapore šŸ‡øšŸ‡¬.

šŸ„„ making money with voiceover is the only 1 thing i care about right now uga ugašŸ’

ā„¹

(back again)

šŸ«” Quick accountability (a new thing):

Did I audition for 70 gigs this week?
No, I only auditioned for 3 gigs and started working on 1 gig where Iā€™m supposed to voice a contemporary drag queen with a broad range and a big attitude; I tried to do it today but I found it hard. Iā€™ll try again tomorrow.

Did I produce 7 ads
targeted at a company Iā€™d like to work with?
No, zero.

:::

Thereā€™s been more music in my ears this week.

My song of the week: Found Out About You ā€¢ Gin Blossoms. I like the song because of the throw-away mood he sings in when it starts, the switches to higher registers, and the doubling of his voice which creates particular warmth in my belly. A solid 1992 rock ballad with a touch of 1976ā€™s Seasons Donā€™t Fear The Reaper vibe.

My video of the week: The Majesty of Music and Math by the Santa Fe Institute in New Mexico. I like the video because, among other things, I learned that below the notes we humans can hear elephants communicate using subsonic rumbles, and even the Earth and sun ring like bells about 16 octaves below middle C, which is far above the notes we can hear.

Dolphins use high-frequency chirps, nine octaves above middle C. Molecules vibrate trillions of times per second. Gamma rays bring us bursts from distant supernovas making the electromagnetic field oscillate a billion, billion times per second, 60 octaves above middle C.

And thereā€™s been no music at all, like in this unedited video I recorded at 3:28PM local time (Syracuse, NY, USA) where Iā€™m giving you 2h22m222s to think and watch through my window to see the adjacent tree shaking, the cars passing by and the sky turning dark over time; and the neighbor turning on the light (as a highlight of the video). Practice your patience. Can you watch 2 hours 25 minutes and 42 seconds in a row watching only angle with barely changing content?

(The video is now up on my new but unpromoted YouTube channel ā€œT/ROL - tea-raw-elā€ where exactly this kind of non-mainstream stuff has its place to be there for us, so we can ponder, wonder, think, and blink.)

Speaking of videos, Iā€™m on TikTok!!! With a daily video ad for as long as my editorial pipeline can deliver content.

Lots of love to you and her šŸŒø.

Bye bye,
- Alex (you can hire me for your next voiceover project)

p.s. adventure ā›°ļø + iā€™m winning
p.p.s. write drunk voiceover sober

About Alexander Kluge

I run a voiceover studio (naii.io), document how I produce original stories, while building my dream company (suse.la), and try to survive in a pendulum of existential angst and lust for adventure!