Andrew Miller

January 3, 2024

Supper of the Lamb: German Fried Potatoes and Onions

I've been cooking through Supper of the Lamb for about a year now, and I've still got 100 recipes to go. Don't know if I'll ever make it, but it's worth the attempt. I need to start documenting these, and my thoughts on each recipe.

German Fried Potatoes and Onions 


Screenshot 2024-01-03 at 10.28.01 AM.png


Big old chunk of lard in our (now, sadly diseased) wok. Long story short, our apartment caught on fire, and the wok didn't make it. Great recipe, especially good with beer. A small insight into my family, this is my brother's reaction to the picture:

IMG_92677CC538F1-1.jpeg

Fat is a wonderful thing. Lard an especially unapologetic fat, which makes it good to use. It reminds you through it's livid whiteness and stench that it's a real fat, and it doesn't really care who knows it. If you only use fats that masquerade as health foods, you may never fully understand what a wonderful thing fat is: Get a package of lard from Wal-Mart (it's there, though it surprises people that we could sell such a horrific substance in 2024!), and cook up some potatoes and onions in it. You'll understand yourself better afterwards. If your reaction to that sentence is to protest that Olive Oil has phospholipidodrytes and bioactive oilivilytes and so you really need to be using Olive Oil and drinking Olive Oil and bathing in Olive Oil because don't you want to be superman and live forever and not have your heart expire (as it almost certainly will) after eating one bite of non-oxydyoxydising lipids...I won't actually throw you out of my house: but you're not allowed near the kitchen.