Michael Schechter

May 3, 2023

Why I Chose BOSS Logics

Note: Apologies for a more personal than usual post; things will be back to our regularly scheduled programming next week. 

I’m excited to share that I’ve joined the team at BOSS Logics as the Director of Business Development. When I started thinking about what was next, I knew I wanted to find a company that could help jewelers take better advantage of emerging digital technology. While there’s no shortage of digital services focused on jewelry, most have struggled to meaningfully improve the way that brands and retailers can embrace digital to enhance their business. For 15 years, BOSS Logics has paired technical excellence with a dedication to understanding the needs of a wide range of jewelers. I am thrilled to be a part of their mission to connect the jewelry industry through technology.

I Like What They’ve Built

Beyond a sound long-term vision, BOSS Logics’ focus on execution is what speaks to me most. The team has built a strong foundation of functionality that solves a variety of real-world challenges for jewelers. Their innovative  product catalogs and proposals, as well as seamless virtual and physical meetings, are bridging the gap between vendors and their retail partners. Rather than trying to create lock-in, they go out of their way to partner with a wide range of technology and service companies throughout the industry. This commitment to being a part of a larger ecosystem rather than trying to control a smaller one gives me confidence that BOSS Logics will forge a better digital path forward for the jewelry industry. 

I Like What They’re Building

Good software should constantly be improving. Ideally, these improvements come from a combination of data analysis, partner feedback, and insights from the team. Rather than lofty dreams centered around buzzwords like Augmented Reality, NFTs, and AI, much of what they build comes from an evolving understanding of what’s needed within the industry rather than just considering what’s technologically feasible. Over the years, companies have focused too heavily on creating exciting new features or launching big initiatives at the expense of building features that actually improve the end customer’s experience. Whether it’s refinements to existing features or the creation of new possibilities, BOSS Logics takes an iterative approach to continually improve and expand their suite of interrelated offerings. It’s an approach that I am confident will better connect suppliers, brands and retailers with their customers. 

I Like Zach and the Team

I didn’t see myself finding a new home quite so quickly. After a decade at Richline and over a decade before that at Honora, I’ve seen the benefits of being with one company over a long period of time. Initially, I planned on taking my time to ensure that the next jump was for the long haul… And then I met BOSS Logic’s founder, Zach Lipsky. After a recent meeting, a trusted retailer remarked that he felt Zach was like a digitally savvy Steven Kaiser, a passionate advocate and a connector who looks to do for technology what Steven did for watches. Zach’s unique combination of deep technical knowledge and passion for the jewelry industry is rare. When you pair that with his openness to feedback and new possibilities, he is outright unique. He has also built an exceptional team that balances technical excellence with hands-on customer guidance within a radically open culture that encourages every member of the team to gain a better understanding of the challenges we are trying to solve for the industry.

I can’t wait to be a part of BOSS Logics’ mission to connect the jewelry industry through technology. If you feel like you ever need any help finding more effective ways to embrace technology in your own business, don’t hesitate to reach out. In the meantime, Brilliant Rough will be back to its regularly scheduled content next week!

Quick side note: I would be remiss if I didn’t take a moment to thank my good friend Jen Cullen Williams for connecting me with Zach. Jen immediately saw the possibility of putting us together. I feel fortunate to know her and appreciate that she put herself out there on my behalf. I look forward to getting to work with her again through BOSS Logics!

About Michael Schechter

Hi there! I’m Michael Schechter, a third-generation, lifelong jeweler. I’ve spent most of my life and career at the crossroads of fine jewelry and emerging technology. Subscribe to receive weekly advice for jewelers struggling with new possibilities online and in store.