Dean Clough

April 10, 2024

Portico Darwin: The Best Eclipse Blog

TODAY'S RAMBLINGS

1 Minute Read

What was cool about Monday's total eclipse of the Sun was that 1) people I would not have expected to be excited were, and 2) I joined them.  All despite not having anything but beautiful - and mostly un-dimmed - sunshine here in SF.

So I will put off my usual bullshit and share with you what I was fortunate enough to see.  Sure, secondhand, but what, you expect me to leave San Francisco to go back to Dallas and Tupper Lake?

The Scene From Dallas
It began with this, during my Metroplex visit a couple of weeks back with cool kid Kevin Monza, pictured on the right in the photo.  I had no idea Dallas was in the path of The Totality, but these punks straightened me out. 

Here they are, demoing the gear they bought for this past Monday.
2.jpg

But pre-eclipse on Monday, young Kevin, now accustomed to having things the way he wants them, was initially a bit concerned about the viewing conditions in his newly adopted home of Dallas.   

In response to my query that morning about the weather conditions:
 
Sucky.  Complete cloud cover.

Who knew?  

About Texas weather not being perfect - not Kevin forgetting he's not in Cali anymore.

But soon - perhaps because Jesus has a plan for Texas! - the skies cleared, and Kevin sent me this, via the modern telegraph, as it was happening.  

This is so wild.
3.jpg
Yes, it was nice to see even a jaded millennial like Kevin moved by our moon and sun's alignment.

Meanwhile, from East Bumfuck a CBS Favorite
When I visited Tupper Lake, in New York's Diamond Certified Adirondacks, just 6 weeks ago, I saw a lot of hype for The Totality.  Little did I understand that not one, but two, elder statesmen and pillars of Tupper Lake would partake and go hardcore.   

First, I give you Bulleit Bob, and his exact quote, with a photo:  
 
Preparation is the key.
4.jpg
Next, here is family patriarch Rex Murphy along with his his bride, Zoe Lobo Murphy.  I have no idea who the kid is.
5.jpg

And then, as we watched CBS's national coverage here in SF, live, this popped up. 
7.jpg

OMFG, yes, it's true:  CBS chose a feed of The Totality from our beloved Tupper Lake. 

Maybe they are the Tiffany Network?

It Was Saratoga
Although she doesn't read this blog, she still gets a name.  First, because she's a friend, primarily of Julie's but also of mine.  Secondly, she was kind enough to share these pictures (the first one, too), taken Monday by a professional photographer friend of hers.

So thank you, Saratoga Powell. 
8.jpg

9.jpg

FROM THE UNWASHED MASSES

Thank you for reading this newsletter.  

KLUF

There is so much trite bullshit that comes to mind.  "That's Amore."  "Fly Me to The Moon."  "Total Eclipse of The Heart."  "Walking on The Moon."  And while certainly not trite bullshit, there will be no Dark Side of the Moon, either.   

No, and this has somehow been overlooked to date here on KLUF, despite its Diamond Certification.  Here is Radiohead and their stunning Moon Shaped Pool.
pool.jpeg

I still remember a review I read of this album at the time of its release, in 2016:  "The guitars sound like violins, and the violins like guitars."

Yep.

About Dean Clough