Dean Clough

October 31, 2022

Portico Darwin: The Musk of Trump Hammers Pelosi

TODAY'S RAMBLINGS

Flag of Ukraine.jpg

At least in part, you can blame the East Bay hipster Kevin Monza for this.  Today's post was to be a really fun one on bowling; but that will have to wait.  My apologies.

Because on Friday, Mr. Monza pretty much demanded a comment of some sort on the crazy-town attack on Paul Pelosi, the husband of U.S. Representative and House Majority Leader, Nancy Pelosi.

Can I expect a blog post on the Pelosi attack?  This is what Trump has brewed for so long now.

While I have reduced my news intake, this sort of thing still breaks through and it still f'ing pisses me off.  Kevin is right:  Trump has been sowing violence since he rode down the escalator in 2015 and infected the lives of all Americans. 

And his incitement works.  Charlottesville.  January 6.  Elected officials that are election deniers.  And now a fucking moron with a hammer shouting "Where's Nancy?" after breaking in to their SF home.   
 
Despite it all, Trump may just get his favorite bloviation/fan-the-flames tool back:  the other big story from Friday is that Elon Musk closed on his purchase of Twitter.  And one of the sideshows to the whole mess is that Musk has indicated he'll restore Trump onto Twitter. 

So isn't this just great?  Musk, a dangerous blowhard, enabling another.  Except Trump is really dangerous - I watched this last Sunday morning and the words are chilling.

Bob Woodward on Donald Trump: "He is a threat to democracy" - CBS News

Do we really want or need to hear from Trump right now, on Twitter?  Or ever, anywhere?  Hasn't he done enough?  You tell me. 
Trump.jpg

If you don't like this picture or the man himself, why vote for the Republicans that enable him? 

I'm just asking for a neighbor - she and her husband need your support now.
Pelosi.jpeg

10 seconds of seriousness:  one of these times, they're going to reach their target.  I've asked this before, but if Nancy Pelosi or AOC or Beto were killed or maimed, would that tone down the rhetoric?   

I'll say this:  Musk putting Trump back on Twitter most certainly won't.

FROM THE UNWASHED MASSES

When the movie pro Arthur speaks, I typically listen.  I had never heard of this, nor of Alex Lifeson being in it.

Not sure I ever mentioned this, but your pic of Rush reminded me how I got a kick out of this horror/comedy I saw some time ago on prime.  Lots of cameos including Alex Lifeson, a commentary on the music business, and Jessica Pare is easy on the eyes.

Suck
image.png

And then there's this.  It is on deep, deep background, and it even came in from overseas.  But two avid readers of this blog are embarking (perfect!) on puppyhood.  I have no other info at this point, including the breed.  If it's not a rescue pup, can you guys please go in one of these directions?

  • French Bulldog 
  • Bassett Hound
  • Boxer
  • Greyhound
  • Boston Terrier

Rescue or pure bred, there's nothing like a doggie.  Here's Silly, Ol' Purple Label's appendage and a senior rescue herself.  The dog, not my wife.
image (3).jpg

Thank you to any one that is reading this newsletter.

KLUF

This has a couple of clunkers, but the vast majority is Killer and it also fits today perfectly - it's an album about moral decay and it also features a star from Suck.  Here is Iggy Pop and the cranking "Brick By Brick".
IP.jpg

If nothing else, don't miss "Neon Forest" from this album.  At least not if you like rock music.

About Dean Clough