Dean Clough

April 22, 2024

Portico Darwin: They Don't Call It Stormy Monday

TODAY'S RAMBLINGS

cf.jpg

<1 Minute Read

Happy Monday, and please stop the world, I want to get off.  And no, for a change, I am not talking about global events.

Because we raged Thursday.  We raged Friday.  And yes, we raged Saturday.  So instead of drivel by Darwin, today you get (mostly) photos by Portico

I took the picture above last Tuesday morning.  And these are from Friday's nuptials of Andrew Whistler and Laura Gonzalez, which took place at wondrous Fort Mason, here in SF. 
wedding.jpg

I will offer my newlywedded friends my late father's favorite toast:

May the most you want in life be the least that you receive.

And thank you for including us - your wedding was very special and will be remembered forever by all that attended.  Congratulations, my friends.
2.jpg

Saturday?  Well, with birthdays all around, and two of them being #60, it was Killer and more.  Thank you, as always, to our hosts Louise Lederhosen and Byron Browne IV - another winner, although I felt terrible spilling By's tasty whipped cream dessert all over the floor . . .

And this?  You'll have to make it through KLUF to learn its secrets and origin.

FROM THE UNWASHED MASSES

The one and only George Valiant Walker combined an observation of the silliness of The Psycho Woke, with London Calling.   

What about the master-slave relationship in an NT domain like we deployed for Genstar/Seaco?  I think it's time for Microsoft to review their documentation and update it to fix this injustice. :-)

And speaking of grave injustices, I apparently got it wrong re:  Günther Strobel and his favorite Metallica album.  I share the correction with you now, and yes, I've alerted the media.  But the esteemed brewmaster is nothing if not gracious.

Not sure if I said that Master of Puppets is THE best album in the Heavy Metal genre (I prefer Ride The Lightning) but for the sake of the article, I’ll let it slide.

Thank you for reading this newsletter.  

KLUF

I am frankly stunned I haven't played this Diamond Certified legend of an album on KLUF in over 3 years.  Featuring "Stormy Monday" and considered a masterclass (!) in terms of both live albums and blues guitar, here are The Allman Brothers, with their seminal At Fillmore East.
AFE.jpeg

I am jacked about that photo above!  I also took it last Tuesday morning, and it is a reflection in the water - here's the original. I cropped it and took out a couple of things, but it's mostly original and just flipped horizontally. 
origin.jpg

About Dean Clough