Dean Clough

July 17, 2024

Portico Darwin: Today With J.D. Vance!

TODAY'S RAMBLINGS

<2 Minute Read

Special thanks to Politico for this.  They compiled the list below of VP candidate J.D. Vance's comments to date about Dear Leader Trump. 

This man simply has no principles - none.  To say the following, and then accept an invitation to join the Republican Presidential ticket?  

In fact, I don't believe Trump will be able to tolerate having his nose rubbed in these inflammatory remarks for the next 3 months.  So a prediction:  Enjoy Vance now - he won't be around long, and I predict Trump will run with someone else.  Crazy?  So was Biden's debate performance and the Trump assassination attempt.  

Crazier still are these things Vance said about Dear Leader, yet here he is - Trump's Vice Presidential candidate.  

I’m a Never Trump Guy
“I’m a ‘Never Trump’ guy,” Vance said in an interview with Charlie Rose in 2016 while publicizing his memoir Hillbilly Elegy.  “I never liked him.”

“As somebody who doesn’t like Trump, myself, I sort of — I understand where Trump’s voters come from,” Vance later said in the Rose interview.  “But I also don’t like Trump himself, and that made me realize that maybe I’m not quite part of either world totally.”

My God, What An Idiot
“My God what an idiot,” Vance wrote in a campaign tweet.  It was one of many tweets now deleted.

America’s Hitler
Vance once questioned whether Trump could be “America’s Hitler” in a private Facebook message in 2016 to one of his former roommates.

It was that or a “cynical asshole like Nixon,” Vance wrote in messages to former Yale Law School classmate Josh McLaurin, now a Democratic state senator in Georgia.

“Mr. Trump is Unfit for Our Nation’s Highest Office
Vance, who first became popular as an author, once wrote an op-ed for The New York Times titled “Why Trump’s Antiwar Message Resonates with White America.”  He didn’t hold back his disapproval for the former president then while also describing his own belief as to why people in the communities he grew up in supported Trump.

“Mr. Trump is unfit for our nation’s highest office,” he wrote in the op-ed, describing his own family’s adoration and commitment to Trump.

I Can’t Stomach Trump
And while Vance will join Trump as his running mate this fall, in 2016, Vance said he didn’t plan on voting for Trump — instead opting for a third-party candidate.

In a now-deleted tweet weeks before the election, Vance wrote that he would be voting for third-party candidate Evan McMullin, a former CIA officer who ran as an independent.

“I can’t stomach Trump,” Vance said in an interview with NPR, when describing why he would vote for a third-party candidate. 

He even considered voting for Hillary Clinton over Trump: “I think there’s a chance, if I feel like Trump has a really good chance of winning, that I might have to hold my nose and vote for Hillary Clinton.”

“I think that he’s noxious and is leading the white working class to a very dark place.”

Yes.  Yes, he is.
white.jpeg

Black Rifles Matter?  OMFG we are doomed.  

FROM THE UNWASHED MASSES

A shout-out to Hunter Deuce for validating Monday's post.  It was an unfortunate fact check, however.

How timely - I was a little late on Friday for the window to get tix to see Herbie Hancock in August.

But it's not all bleak when it comes to Stern Grove - you can just watch it live on TV or stream it.

Second year of Stern Grove Festival Broadcasts - CBS San Francisco

Thank you for reading this newsletter.  

KLUF

Here is the trippy, Killer and aptly entitled Eating Us from Black Moth Super Rainbow.
BMSR.jpeg

About Dean Clough