David Vaassen

April 26, 2023

RIP Suzanne Elodie Vaassen (nee Renshaw) 1936 to 2023

My dear mum died recently.

She was a journalist, writer, photographer and poet. 

She loved Haiku and the related Tanka style of poetry. But Haiku was her passion towards the end of her life.

The 3 "rules" of Haiku

  • There are no more than 17 syllables.
  • Haiku is composed of only 3 lines.
  • Typically, every first line of Haiku has 5 syllables, the second line has 7 syllables, and the third has 5 syllables.

I noticed that for many of Mum's Haiku and those of other respected Poets, these rules are not always strictly adhered to.

I'm no poet and certainly not in Mum's league, but I wanted to write something for Mum. 

So I wrote this:

An eccentric lady
pickles sweet figs
and three line Haiku.

One of our families cherished memories, was of the scrumptious sweet taste of Mum's pickle sweet figs, which she diligently bottled each year. To boot garden parties under the big old fig tree in the garden, were of great renown on Waiheke (island).

~ end ~

About David Vaassen

Hey, I'm David, the Founder and CEO at E-see International Ltd headquartered in NZ, makers of Brandkit, Logosauce (RIP), and Submitly (coming soon).  Subscribe below or check back occasionally for my thoughts on branding, marketing, business and life in general. My Personal Motto: Why zig when you can zag? 

Thanks for reading.