Dennis Dang

July 17, 2024

Finny Week 2 Update

It's already week 2 day 2! Time flies.

I've now handled more important webhooks from Plaid. All webhooks are now tossed into the LavinMQ queue I've recently setup. Especially important is the `SYNC_UPDATES_AVAILABLE` webhook that all Plaid apps should listen to. On initial successful item creation (a connection to an institution), we'll receive the event with initial_update_complete: true early on for the first 30 days of transactions. The same event will also be sent with historical_update_complete: true where Plaid has successfully imported all historical transactions as far as you've indicated (max is 24 months). Handling these two properties well means my customers can start seeing their financial activities quickly.

I've yet to get to the real first feature of my app 💀. Lots of groundwork still. The next feature I'm actively working on is Connections Management. Every app, from YNAB to Monarch, requires a couple screens where users see what institutions they're actively connected to. I need to render these set of institutions. Simple enough. The first state of this feature here will only allow users to see, add, and remove their items. Sometime soon I'll need to handle connections that enter a "bad" state or when items simply need updates - perhaps one of their connection requires re-authentication or they want to connect more accounts. 

However, with limited time, I must always weigh each feature carefully. By the end of this week, I'll have a working app on the Google Play Store beta and Testflight where my testers can connect their accounts and see their account balances. 

Once Connections Management is done, I'll finally work on the Realtime Retirement Calculator and see what people think.Â