Greg Dikmans

October 5, 2021

Elysium Ensemble Blog for Music Lovers

Dear Friends and Music Lovers,

It’s been a while, mainly because there hasn’t been much to report.

I haven't done much playing lately, but I have done a lot of thinking, writing and planning. I want to share some of this with you and hopefully I’ll soon also be able to let you know about recordings and concerts.

If I’ve learned anything from these tedious lockdowns, it’s the importance of gratitude. I am so grateful for the support (moral and financial) you’ve given to me and the ensemble over the years.

I’ve decided to upgrade the newsletter to a blog — and I plan to post more regularly 😀.  In addition to announcements about concerts and recordings, I want to write about topics relating to music appreciation. The sorts of things I talk to the audience about at our concerts: historical context, the composers, the music and what to listen for. This knowledge should lead you to greater enjoyment of the music.

As I said in the liner notes to our recording of Quantz Duets: 

On the surface this music can be enjoyed for its charm and beauty, but a deeper appreciation is achieved when listened to attentively, following closely the various musical ideas as they are presented and developed.

To make it easier for me to post more regularly, I’ve decided to move away from using Mailchimp to a more privacy-focused and frictionless service: HEY World.

In the next week or so look out for an opt-in email from "confirm-subscriber@world.hey.com". You will need to click the confirm button in that email to be subscribed to the new list.

I apologise for the inconvenience but it I think it will be worth it in the long run.

---

If you have any questions, thoughts or suggestions, you can contact me directly at dikmans@hey.com

If you decide not to continue receiving the emails, you can always see all the blog posts at: https://world.hey.com/dikmans

There is also an RSS feed (don’t worry if you don’t know what that is).

Best wishes,

Greg Dikmans (Elysium Ensemble)

---

dikmans@hey.com

http://elysiumensemble.com

https://world.hey.com/dikmans