Geoffrey Moffett

January 22, 2024

Behind the Glitz and Glam: The Price Tag of Local Award Ceremonies Revealed!

Ever received one of those unexpected emails or calls that make you feel like a rockstar? You know, the ones that start with "Congratulations! You've been nominated for a prestigious local award!" Well, hold on to your party hats, because I've got a story to tell.

danny-howe-98KlbUsOO_w-unsplash.jpg


A few weeks back, I got one of these unexpected surprises. I was just sipping my morning coffee when ding - an email popped into my inbox. And lo and behold, it was an invitation to a glitzy local business awards ceremony.

Now, don't get me wrong. Who doesn't love a little recognition? But here's the kicker - attending this shindig would cost an arm and a leg. We're talking ticket prices that could rival a Broadway show, not to mention the new suit, the hairdo, the whole shebang. And that's just for me. Multiply that by the number of friends / family I'd want to bring along and... ouch!

But hey, who cares about the price tag when you're about to win an award, right? Except... there was no guarantee of winning. This wasn't the Oscars. There were no leaked winner lists. So, there I was, potentially spending a small fortune on a night that could end in me clapping for someone else.

Sound familiar?

Well, it seems like we're not alone. Recently, there's been a proliferation of these awards ceremonies. It's like every Tom, Dick, and Harry decided to start their own version of the Grammys. And why wouldn't they? They've found a gold mine in our collective desire for recognition and validation.

But here's the thing - and listen up, because this is important - these awards are more about making money than celebrating achievements. They're counting on us to shell out big bucks for the chance to bask in the limelight, even if it's just for a night.

So, the next time you get that nomination call or email, take a moment. Ask yourself, "Is the cost of this award worth the potential reward?" Remember, your success isn't defined by the number of shiny trophies on your shelf, but by the difference you make in your work and your community.

Stay smart, stay savvy, and keep doing you! Because you're already a winner in my book.

Until next time!





About Geoffrey Moffett

Hey!  I'm Geoffrey and right now 110% of my time is focused on building Triovia, a digital and social media marketing education company.  

In this small part of the internet I blog about thoughts, stories and ideas.