Greg Soper

January 7, 2024

Sporg's 2023 Specials

2023 was an incredibly busy and growth filled year for me. Finally getting an ADHD diagnosis and starting medication gave me a really different perspective! Came just in time to better support my partner during her rough first trimester of pregnancy last spring.

Nothing like an impending 2nd kid to help one understand the very inflexibile limits of time and the needs of cute little humans climbing all over you. It's a context that's forced me to assess the many, many personal projects I've started - it's not actually possible to give them the same love and care. Best to focus on those that are most personally gratifying to me.

Bests of 2023

 
CleanShot 2024-01-07 at 08.31.43@2x.png

Movies

Jerry Maguire - saw it for my watch-along of the Blank Check podcast. I had no idea it was so good. Noroi, Skinamarink.

Rewatching stuff with my kid: Monsters Inc. is rock solid. The Finding Nemo soundtrack is breathtaking and terrifying, but lots of the little gags in the film don't age well.

TV
Mob Psycho 100 - not even this year, I just keep forgetting and rediscovering how meaningful it is to me.  Reservation Dogs, Scavenger's Reign, The Get Down, Taskmaster Season 16 (specifically Lucy Beaumont and Sam Campbell), Hacks, Samurai Champloo, Columbo, Seinfeld (rewatch), Succession Season 1

Books
4000 weeks - a very philosophical approach to "productivity". Some of that "accepting your limits" stuff - the emotional freedom from accepting that no one will think about you a generation or two from now  ☺️.

Running on Empty: Overcoming Childhood Emotional Neglect (Big recommend - reply here if the notion intrigues you and you want to know more! Emotional neglect is a subtle and impactful cycle running through generations)
11-22-63, Blood Meridian, Stephen Fry's "Mythos" and "Heroes"

Music 
Everything I've discovered in the "50 Years of Hip Hop Podcast", The White Lotus OST, Machine Girl, Stravinsky's Firebird Suite.
 
Games 
Alan Wake 2 - a studio that loves storytelling and they're finally getting really good at it. Still uneven, still some misses, but they are GOING FOR IT - I can always get excited about that. Hi-Fi Rush, Mario Wonder, Marvel SNAP, Midnight Suns, Lethal Company, Zero Ranger


Greg Soper / Sporgory
Designer