Harry Keller

February 27, 2022

↬ February 2022: last days at diesdas, mathing together, dark times

Hey there,
I hope this message finds you well, but oh boy, it’s being sent out under different circumstances than I expected … admittedly it feels petty and irrelevant to write a personal newsletter right now, while the sickening invasion of Ukraine by Putin’s Russia is underway. I’ve donated $1000 to the Ukraine Crisis Fund – I hope it helps someone! Stay strong, Ukraine! 🇺🇦 

On to a few personal updates …

🚨 What’s new

Tomorrow is my last day at diesdas. 🥲 I always expected these final days at the company to be emotional, looking back at all those years together, speaking to many people in the team, being still involved and present somehow … but the reality is that I had mentally detached from the daily bustle a while ago and it feels very distant that I had a say in daily decisions. I’m content with how it all played out and I’m now looking forward to what comes next for me. Good things are unfolding. I think there’ll be more to share in the next newsletter.

Kaja, Lisa and I are doing a little weekly math club over zoom, reactivating a dormant part of our brains by, well, mathing together. We did a few Kurvendiskussionen, understanding the pq-Formel, Ableitungen, the Mitternachtsformel, Polynomdivision, Nullstellenberechnung, Monotonieverhalten, and a couple of other things I don’t know the English terms for. If you feel that itch as well, consider finding a buddy and giving it a go.

Otherwise I’ve had a regular cold (yeah, those also still exist) for three weeks now, coughing and sniffling constantly. Please go away!

What’s good

After more than two years of no real holidays my girlfriend Carolin and I decided it’s time to take the risk and booked two weeks in Italy. Of course we’re taking our little dog Freddy with us and I’m so looking forward to the change of scenery. And the pizza. Definitely the pizza!

I replayed Zelda: The Minish Cap on the GameBoy Advance and it holds up really well. What a nifty little game!

💡 What’s interesting

I found this profile of the Ukrainian president Volodymyr Zelensky super interesting.

There seems to be a bit of a resurgence of personal websites and I think Daniël van der Winden captures the sentiment well. I gotta update mine.

A good article: How we define success by my former colleague Max 💪

👀 What’s recommended

I’ve used Tweek to plan my weeks and keep track of my todos for over a year now. It’s such a neat little app that just vibes with my brain. Give it a try!

I find it hard to focus on books these days, but I’m slowly inching my way through these two:

🔮 What’s next

A whole month of not working. So good. Must have been a decade since I last had that.

📷 What’s in the camera roll

Not much. It’s still grey, cold and wet outside, but here are four impressions:

Outside: in the forest with Freddy + sunset in Köpenick

Inside: our next book club read and playing Zelda

That’s it for today, thank you for following along! Stay safe, take care, see you next time!
Harry

---
Harry Felix Keller
based in Berlin
+49 178 55 29 111
@harryfk | .com | newsletter

About Harry Keller

Heya, I’m Harry, a software developer in Berlin/Germany—he/him, *351ppm, feminist, cooperativist, dogfather. I recently co-founded the somewhat utopian design+tech cooperative Village One and also diesdas.digital before that. You can learn more about me on harryfk.com and we can connect on Mastodon, Twitter, BeReal, PixelfedInstagram. Or you can simply read my newsletter below! 💁