Jason Fried

February 1, 2022

Heard Something, Read Something, Saw Something [#11]

Hey!

Back again with another installment of Heard Something, Read Something, Saw Something. So, what do we have this time...

Heard Something
While this is a video, it's really about sound. If you like cars, or simply dig physics, I bet you'll find this video (and audio) fascinating. I sure did. Why do engines sound they way they do? I was surprised by what I heard.
Hear it: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ygGmLbzuBU4

Read Something
While this is an article, it's the little looping video that blew my mind. Scientists at the University of Vermont, Tufts University and Harvard University's Wyss Institute for Biologically Inspired Engineering said they have discovered an entirely new form of biological reproduction different from any animal or plant known to science. Absolutely fascinating.
Read it: https://www.cnn.com/2021/11/29/americas/xenobots-self-replicating-robots-scn/index.html

Saw Something
This brief video on Dutch street design and safety hones in specifically on the concept of continuous sidewalks. I remember noticing this when we spent time in Amsterdam a few years back, and it struck me as absolutely obvious, yet completely foreign to my eyes. BTW, I can't wait to get back to Amsterdam — love that place.
See it: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9OfBpQgLXUc

Until next time.

-Jason

About Jason Fried

Hey! I'm Jason, the Co-Founder and CEO at 37signals, makers of Basecamp and HEY. Subscribe below to follow my thinking on business, design, product development, and whatever else is on my mind. Thanks for visiting, thanks for reading.