Jason Fried

June 10, 2021

Heard Something, Read Something, Saw Something [#4]

This is the fourth post in a new series I'm calling Heard Something, Read Something, Saw Something. I'll post these periodically whenever I can fill up three slots — one for something interesting I recently listened to, one for something I read that I liked, and one for something I saw that caught my eye. Hope you enjoy these.



Heard Something
This one's visual, but it's really about sound so it feels like it fits snugly under Heard Something. This ~14 minute video follows the work of three Foley artists who work in a custom designed building in rural Ontario. The place is packed with stuff that can simulate just about any sound you could imagine. The combinations are especially cool — there's this one part where Sandra, one of the Foley artists, combines a hinge with a fence to produce a much richer, more resonant sound. What a cool skill. Wait, what's a Foley artist? Watch to find out.
Hear it: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ylxHGH4kG9Q

Read Something
Rolex is one of the world's most secretive, vertically integrated companies. Aside from making many millions of tiny little screws, springs, levers, gears, and rotors, they even have their own metal foundry and produce all their own alloys. This article takes you inside the factories, revealing the mesmerizing scope, scale, and precision of the operation. It's a major wow, especially the photographs. The article starts with some history, but if you skip down to the "Inside Rolex Today" section, you'll see what I'm talking about.
Read it: https://www.hodinkee.com/articles/inside-rolex

Saw Something
Another flower this time, or, perhaps, a flower within a flower within a flower. Look at that geometry, look at the rotation. This one is called an African Iris, also known as a Butterfly flag (great name!).

butterflyflag.jpeg


Until next time.

-Jason

About Jason Fried

Hey! I'm Jason, the Co-Founder and CEO at 37signals, makers of Basecamp and HEY. Subscribe below to follow my thinking on business, design, product development, and whatever else is on my mind. Thanks for visiting, thanks for reading.