Jason Fried

August 26, 2021

Heard Something, Read Something, Saw Something [#7]

This is the seventh post in a new series I'm calling Heard Something, Read Something, Saw Something. I'll post these periodically whenever I can fill up three slots — one for something interesting I recently listened to, one for something I read that I liked, and one for something I saw that caught my eye. Hope you enjoy these.



Heard Something
This conversation between Peter Attia and Katherine Eban about widespread fraud in the generic drug industry was a real eye opener. When it comes to prescription drugs, you kinda assume all generics are the same, and equally effective, but... Well, wow, just listen.
Hear it: https://peterattiamd.com/katherineeban/

Read Something
Takanakuy, which means “to hit each other” in Quechua (the Indigenous language spoken in the Peruvian Andes), is a tradition specific to Peru’s Chumbivilcas Province. Rural communities up in the Andes Mountains, many of which don't have access to traditional law enforcement to resolve disputes, settle their scores once a year in a public arena, with their fists.
Read it: https://www.nytimes.com/2021/08/09/travel/takanakuy-fighting-festival-peru.html

Saw Something
Incredible animations that begin as match sticks and end as... Well, wow, just watch. Endlessly creative, such a joy to witness all the permutations of someone's imagination (and to sit in awe of someone's ability to execute).
Watch: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2chQKSGowjg

Until next time.

-Jason

About Jason Fried

Hey! I'm Jason, the Co-Founder and CEO at 37signals, makers of Basecamp and HEY. Subscribe below to follow my thinking on business, design, product development, and whatever else is on my mind. Thanks for visiting, thanks for reading.