Jason Fried

September 4, 2021

Heard Something, Read Something, Saw Something [#8]

This is the eighth post in a new series I'm calling Heard Something, Read Something, Saw Something. I'll post these periodically whenever I can fill up three slots — one for something interesting I recently listened to, one for something I read that I liked, and one for something I saw that caught my eye. Hope you enjoy these.



Heard Something
I'm repeating this one from the last installment because I botched the link, sorry about that. I've fixed the link below. This conversation between Peter Attia and Katherine Eban about widespread fraud in the generic drug industry was a real eye opener. When it comes to prescription drugs, you kinda assume all generics are the same, and equally effective, but... Well, wow, just listen.
Hear it: https://peterattiamd.com/katherineeban/

Read Something
This is kind of a heard/read combo, but it's a good one where Philip Glass listens to a piece of music put together by an AI that was trained on a corpus of Glass' work. I find Glass' side of the conversation fascinating. He appreciates the challenge, he's not overly dismissive, but he gets into what makes music appealing to humans, and wonders if machines that aren't humans can grok the essentials of those qualities and intangibles. Really worth a listen and read.
Read it: https://auderdy.com/2021/08/19/philip-glass-on-artificial-intelligence-and-art/

Saw Something
I've really been enjoying watching The LockPickingLawyer channel on YouTube. I'm not a lock picker myself, but I've always fancied myself as lock picking curious. I like the clever combination of mechanics, problem solving, feel, tooling, deception, and myth busting. Anyway, The LockPickingLaywer appears to be one of the best, and it's always fun to watch someone at the top of their game, no matter the game. I think I'm learning a lot, but I haven't practiced a thing.
Watch: https://www.youtube.com/c/lockpickinglawyer/videos

Until next time.

-Jason

About Jason Fried

Hey! I'm Jason, the Co-Founder and CEO at 37signals, makers of Basecamp and HEY. Subscribe below to follow my thinking on business, design, product development, and whatever else is on my mind. Thanks for visiting, thanks for reading.