Jason Fried

October 3, 2021

Heard Something, Read Something, Saw Something [#9]

This is the ninth post in a new series I'm calling Heard Something, Read Something, Saw Something. I'll post these periodically whenever I can fill up three slots — one for something interesting I recently listened to, one for something I read that I liked, and one for something I saw that caught my eye. Hope you enjoy these.



Heard Something
I enjoyed this Economics 102 conversation between Coleman Hughes and Professor Abhijit Banerjee, a Nobel Prize-winning economist and economics professor at MIT. The one bit about how poverty leads to someone taking the first job they can get, vs. the right job for them, and the downstream implications of that decision, was particularly interesting.
Hear it: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XlnzoE6h8ao

Read Something
Jack Thomas only has a few months to live. So he wrote something down about life, love, work, family, friends, nature, music, the wonders of space, who he hopes to bump into in the afterlife, and his approaching death that's now fully in focus. An undeniably profound, beautiful, touching piece of writing. Exquisitely composed, Mr. Thomas presents a tour through a wonderful, well-lived life. So full, so final, it makes you think about what you're doing with your time around the sun. Please read it all the way through.
Read it: https://www.bostonglobe.com/2021/07/21/magazine/i-just-learned-i-only-have-months-live-this-is-what-i-want-say/

Saw Something
A perfect bridge between the analog and digital worlds. Get the app, point your camera at your disaster of spare Lego pieces, and find out what you can build with what you've got. Incredibly well executed. Bravo.
See it: https://brickit.app

Until next time.

-Jason

About Jason Fried

Hey! I'm Jason, the Co-Founder and CEO at 37signals, makers of Basecamp and HEY. Subscribe below to follow my thinking on business, design, product development, and whatever else is on my mind. Thanks for visiting, thanks for reading.