Jason Fried

April 27, 2021

On making decisions

Decisions, decisions.

Decisions aren't hard — it's the moments after that are.

As it's said, you live with a decision. They come with you. They mix and swirl with new times ahead you can't see yet. A decision is a guess about later.

Whenever I make decisions, I don't think about now, I think about eventually. How will this feel then. Right now is the wrong measure of the moment. Later is the right one.

How will it feel when it's real, not raw. When nerves settle. When the last zap of electricity arcs the gap.

When the complications around the concern have cleared, how will it feel? That's how I find peace in making decisions today. The outcome comes along, it's rarely here now.

Time will tell, as it always does.

About Jason Fried

Hey! I'm Jason, the Co-Founder and CEO at 37signals, makers of Basecamp and HEY. Subscribe below to follow my thinking on business, design, product development, and whatever else is on my mind. Thanks for visiting, thanks for reading.