Jeffrey Jorgensen

May 10, 2024

Embracing imperfection

Being a designer I'm constantly looking at the world and trying to find opportunities for things to be improved. As far as I know, that's fairly natural for most creators and builders. So is "perfectionism". Or at least pushing yourself and your products to be as close to that ideal as they can be. Almost all of the people I know in my field have struggled with (or are currently struggling with) this blessed curse.

However as of late I've found myself trying to do the opposite. I've been coaching myself to be okay with things that aren't perfect, and more importantly, to look for and seek out imperfections. I spend a lot of time in out  nature - hunting, fishing, hiking, running - the outdoors are my happy place. And while Mother Nature has done an incredible job crafting this world we live in, it's by no means impeccable. In fact some of the most beautiful aspects of the real world are its imperfections. Or at least what I perceive as imperfections, maybe ol' Mother Nature intended for those less-than-perfect bits all along. Waterfalls, mountains, and caves are all imperfections in the Earth's crust, and thank goodness for them as they're some of the most breathtaking things on this planet. 

The point is, shifting my perspective has been hard. But it's allowed me to see the forest for the trees. It's allowed me to step back in a lot of situations and see the bigger picture, as often times, that's what matters most. It's allowed me to be more at-ease with things when they're not up to old Jeff's standards which has ultimately let me live life a little more.

That said, there's still more work to be done. There always is.