Jodie Cook

March 31, 2022

Hiring a boss

Artist Andy Warhol once wrote that if he could have anyone hired on a retainer, it would be a boss.
 
“A boss who could tell me what to do, because that makes everything easy when you’re working.”
 
When you work for yourself, there’s no one telling you what to do. You can pretend your clients are your boss, or your editor or audience, but it’s not quite the same.
 
Your clients, editor and audience are expecting you to know what to do and do it. They’re not expecting to provide the answers or the direction, that would take the magic away. That would take away the reason they trust you.
 
Direction, instructions, accountability. Motivation, inspiration, deadlines. Only you can be the boss of you.

carl-heyerdahl-KE0nC8-58MQ-unsplash.jpeg
 



About Jodie Cook

Welcome, great to have you here 👋

I'm Jodie, founder of Coachvox AI. We make AI coaches.

After selling my agency in 2021 I wrote my new book, Ten Year Career: Reimagine business, design your life, fast track your freedom.

> > > I'm now blogging directly from my website - sign up here.

These blogs are for entrepreneurs who think differently (or want to!)
Topics include mindset, lifestyle design and how to run a business without it running you.