Jodie Cook

October 7, 2021

Imposter syndrome

Imposter syndrome means believing you are not as competent as others perceive you to be, specifically around intelligence and achievement.
 
When others think you are awesome and you aren’t sure you agree, it signals low self-esteem and a feeling of hollow success.
 
Andy Warhol once said, “Sometimes people let the same problem make them miserable for years when they could just say ‘So what?’”
 
People think I’m really good. So what?
I’m not sure I can live up to their expectations. So what?
I’m not sure I can do what’s expected of me. So what?
They might be disappointed when they realise I’m not that good. So what?
 
Predicting what other people might be thinking is no way to live. Fearing failure is no way to live. You can always improve. You can always learn, practice and perfect. Sooner or later your work needs to see the light of day and other people’s expectations are not your concern. Better to suspect you’re not talented than do nothing and prove it. 
 
Imposter syndrome means taking yourself too seriously and failing to realise that none of it matters. So what, so what, so what?

boris-smokrovic-W341a11Rt1g-unsplash.jpeg
 


About Jodie Cook

Welcome, great to have you here 👋

I'm Jodie, founder of Coachvox AI. We make AI coaches.

After selling my agency in 2021 I wrote my new book, Ten Year Career: Reimagine business, design your life, fast track your freedom.

> > > I'm now blogging directly from my website - sign up here.

These blogs are for entrepreneurs who think differently (or want to!)
Topics include mindset, lifestyle design and how to run a business without it running you.